The 2013 schedule for the UL Ragin' Cajuns football team has officially been released. The Cajuns are coming off back to back seasons as New Orleans Bowl Champions. This season includes two very high-profile games to start the season and five nationally televised games.

2013 UL Lafayette Ragin' Cajuns Football Schedule

Aug. 31 (Sat.):  at Arkansas (SEC Network)
Sept. 7 (Sat.):  at Kansas State (Big 12 Network)
Sept. 14 (Sat.) NICHOLLS STATE
Sept. 21 (Sat.) at Akron
Oct. 5 (Sat.) TEXAS STATE *
Oct. 15-16 (Tues.-Wed.) at WKU * (ESPN/ESPN2)
Oct. 22-23 (Tues.-Wed.) at Arkansas State * (ESPN/ESPN2)
Nov. 2 (Sat.) NEW MEXICO STATE
Nov. 7 (Thurs.) TROY * (ESPNU)
Nov. 16 (Sat.) at Georgia State *
Nov. 30 (Sat.) ULM *
Dec. 7 (Sat.) at South Alabama *

* - Sun Belt Games        All Game Times Are TBA

 

Cajuns head coach Mark Hudspeth had this to say about the upcoming season via RaginCajuns.com:

One by-product of being in demand by television is that it tends to wreak havoc with your schedule and in this case, it certainly did. On one hand, it shows how far this program has come over the last two years that we are the only program in the Sun Belt chosen by ESPN to have three games televised in prime time.  It also puts two of our most challenging games on the road a week apart and gives us three games mid-week playing days.

It will be a huge challenge to start the season being tested by two historically great programs on the road.  Those games will be a measuring stick to see how far we’ve come.  In order to be a big-time program, you have to play big-time programs.

The short turnaround late in the season for the Troy game will be something new, but with the Sun Belt championship on the line in November, we will adapt and overcome the challenge.