Contact Us

Media Picks LSU 3rd In SEC West, 10 Tigers Selected Preseason All-SEC

Photo by Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images

The LSU Tigers only return 11 starters from a season ago. With inexperience at quarterback, it’s no surprise where the media picked LSU to finish in the SEC.

Not at the bottom, but not at the top, LSU is picked to finish 3rd in the SEC West, as the conference announced the media’s preseason picks and All-SEC preseason teams this morning.

Alabama (1915 voting points) is selected to win the SEC West, while defending SEC champion Auburn (1735) was picked second. LSU (1453) is third, followed by Ole Miss (1069), Mississippi State (890) and Texas A&M (791).

Steve Spurrier’s South Carolina Gamecocks (1895) are the media favorite to win the SEC East, followed by Georgia (1777), Florida (1362), Missouri (1263), Tennessee (893), Vanderbilt (619) and Kentucky (395).

Alabama is the media’s pick to win the SEC, receiving 154 votes. LSU received 9.

Only one member of the Tigers was selected as a 1rst team, All-SEC preseason pick. Offensive lineman La’el Collins (pictured), who is already on the prestigious Lombardi Award watch list, is the lone LSU 1rst team selection.

New Iberia native Colby Delahoussaye earned 2nd team honors at Kicker. Offensive lineman Vadal Alexander, cornerback Tre’Davious White, and running back Terrance McGee (who was selected as an All-Purpose back) join Delahoussaye on the 2nd team.

Tigers making third-team include punter Jamie Keehn, defensive end Jermauria Rasco, linebacker Kwon Alexander, safety Corey Thompson, and cornerback Rashard Robinson.

(Total points earned in parenthesis)


QB Nick Marshall, Auburn (241)
RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama (281)
RB Todd Gurley, Georgia (280)
WR Amari Cooper, Alabama (282)
WR Sammie Coates, Auburn (207)
TE O.J. Howard, Alabama (188)
OL La’el Collins, LSU (231)
OL Arie Kouandjio, Alabama (188)
OL Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss (183)
OL Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M (174)
C Reese Dismukes, Auburn (226)

QB Dak Prescott, Mississippi State (118)
RB Mike Davis, South Carolina (240)
RB Alex Collins, Arkansas (126)
WR Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss (182)
WR Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia (71)
TE C.J. Uzomah, Auburn (141)
OL A.J. Cann, South Carolina (166)
OL Vadal Alexander, LSU (112)
OL Alex Kozan, Auburn (112)
OL Corey Robinson, South Carolina (107)
C Ryan Kelly, Alabama (126)
QB Bo Wallace, Ole Miss (94)
RB Corey Grant, Auburn (52)
RB Keith Marshall, Georgia (44)
WR Jameon Lewis, Mississippi State (67)
WR Marquez North, Tennessee (66)
TE Hunter Henry, Arkansas (72)
OL Austin Shepherd, Alabama (106)
OL Chad Slade, Auburn (101)
OL John Theus, Georgia (96)
OL Chaz Green, Florida (94)
C Evan Boehm, Missouri (77)


DL Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (239)
DL Dante Fowler, Jr., Florida (212)
DL A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama (208)
DL Gabe Wright, Auburn (192)
LB Trey DePriest, Alabama (253)
LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee (186)
LB Ramik Wilson, Georgia (147)
DB Landon Collins, Alabama (274)
DB Vernon Hargreaves, III, Florida (243)
DB Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss (210)
DB Deshazor Everett, Texas A&M (183)

DL Trey Flowers, Arkansas (181)
DL Chris Jones, Mississippi State (150)
DL Alvin “Bud” Dupree, Kentucky (134)
DL Markus Golden, Missouri (125)
LB Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State (143)
LB Jordan Jenkins, Georgia (137)
LB Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (116)
DB Robenson Therezie, Auburn (144)
DB Tre’Davious White, LSU (141)
DB Damian Swann, Georgia (127)
DB Tony Conner, Ole Miss (116)

DL Ray Drew, Georgia (102)
DL Montravius Adams, Auburn (94)
DL Carl Lawson, Auburn (87)
DL Jermauria Rasco (79)
LB Kwon Alexander, LSU (112)
LB Cassanova McKinzy, Auburn (82)
LB Serderius Bryant, Ole Miss (76)
DB Jon Mincy, Auburn (99)
DB Corey Thompson, LSU (86)
DB Rashard Robinson, LSU (84)
DB Brison Williams, South Carolina (81)


P Drew Kaser, Texas A&M (221)
PK Marshall Morgan, Georgia (224)
RS Christion Jones, Alabama (262)
AP Christion Jones, Alabama (130)

P Sam Irwin-Hill, Arkansas (136)
PK Colby Delahoussaye, LSU (142)
RS Andre Debose, Florida (97)
AP Terrence Magee, LSU (111)

P Jamie Keehn, LSU (81)
PK Andrew Baggett, Missouri (103)
RS Marcus Murphy, Missouri (72)
AP Trey Williams, Texas A&M (89)

School, Points
Alabama, 154
Auburn, 75
South Carolina, 32
Georgia, 19
LSU, 9
Ole Miss, 2
Arkansas, 1
Mississippi State, 1

School, Points
South Carolina, 1895
Georgia, 1777
Florida, 1362
Missouri, 1263
Tennessee, 893
Vanderbilt, 619
Kentucky, 395

School, Points
Alabama, 1915
Auburn, 1735
LSU, 1453
Ole Miss, 1069
Mississippi State, 890
Texas A&M, 791
Arkansas, 351

Best of Hot 1079

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Friends with Benefits quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Friends with Benefits contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.