In a move that literally NO ONE saw coming, Beyonce just dropped her fifth studio album on iTunes. The self-titled visual album, BEYONCE, launched at midnight with Beyonce announcing the move with a simple tweet that read "Surprise!"

The project features 14 tracks and 17 videos with features from Drake, Frank Ocean, Justin Timberlake, Pharrell, Timbaland, former Destiny's Child bandmates Michelle Rowland and Kelly Williams; and even her baby daughter Blue Ivy.

As for why there was such an extensive emphasis on a visual album, Beyonce explains,

It’s more than just what I hear. When I’m connected to something, I immediately see a visual or a series of images that are tied to a feeling or an emotion, a memory from my childhood, thoughts about life, my dreams or my fantasies. And they’re all connected to the music.

How ALL of those artists, not to mention the entire industry kept this a secret still has my jaw on the floor. Even the people at her Columbia record label had no clue and were just as shocked as I was when I texted them upon finding out about this move.

Don't look now, but Beyonce just changed the game as we know it.


1. “Pretty Hurts”

2. “Haunted”

3. “Drunk in Love” (Featuring JAY Z)

4. “Blow/Cherry”

5. “No Angel”

6. “Yoncé/Partition”

7. “Jealous”

8. “Rocket”

9. “Mine” (Featuring Drake)

10. “XO”

11. “***Flawless” (Featuring Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie)

12. “Superpower” (Featuring Frank Ocean)

13. “Heaven”

14. “Blue” (Featuring Blue Ivy)



1. “Pretty Hurts” – Directed by Melina Matsoukas

2. “Ghost” – Directed by Pierre Debusschere

3. “Haunted” – Directed by Jonas Akerlund

4. “Drunk in Love” – Directed by Hype Williams

5. “Blow” – Directed by Hype Williams

6. “No Angel” – Directed by @lilinternet

7. “Yoncé” – Directed by Ricky Saiz

8. “Partition” – Directed by Jake Nava

9. “Jealous” – Directed by Beyoncé, Francesco Carrozzini & Todd Tourso

10. “Rocket” – Directed by Beyoncé, Ed Burke & Bill Kirstein

11. “Mine” – Directed by Pierre Debusschere

12. “XO” – Directed by Terry Richardson

13. “***Flawless” – Directed by Jake Nava

14. “Superpower” – Directed by Jonas Akerlund

15. “Heaven” – Directed by Beyoncé & Todd Tourso

16. “Blue” – Directed by Beyoncé, Ed Burke & Bill Kirstein

**BONUS VIDEO – “Grown Woman” – Directed by Jake Nava

I must tip my hat at the move, especially a world where something is wrong if an album DOESN'T leak before it's projected on-sale date. According to Queen Bey, manufacturing of the hard copies begins today and a double disc CD/DVD combo will be available at retail stores just in time for the holidays.

It gets even better, as Beyonce has also revealed the first segment of 'Self-Titled,' a mini-documentary that unveils how this entire project was put together. If this move isn't sure fire proof that Beyonce does what she wants, when she wants, and exactly how she wants - then I truly don't know what is.

Grab the self-titled visual album HERE exclusively on iTunes now.

[via Rap-Up]