Should Louisianans be Fined for Not Wearing Face Masks?
Certain states have announced new fines for not wearing face masks, should Louisiana? As the mask debate continues, no matter what side you're on (for or against), the reality is the Governor of Louisiana has a statewide mandate currently in place. In that case, if caught without a mask in a public place, should Louisianans be fined?
Recently, Connecticut officials have put into place new fines for individuals caught not wearing a face mask in public when social distancing is not possible. Those fines include:
- $100 for violating the mask executive order.
- $250 for attending an event with more than 25 people (indoors) or 100 people (outdoors).
- $500 for holding or organizing an event with more than 25 people (indoors) or 100 people (outdoors).
The governor's office stated in the Phase 3 guidelines for the state that the mask mandate would stay in place under the new order. Governor John Bel Edwards stated in a press conference, "The more Louisianans who wear masks, the more Louisiana businesses can stay open."
Masks have been proven to be the key to helping slow the spread of COVID-19. However, many in Louisiana feel like the state's mandate to wear them violates their freedom as Americans.
How do you feel? Should Louisianans be fined for violating the governor's executive order to wear masks in public places when not social distancing?
The statewide mask mandate will stay in place under the new order. Masks have proven to be a key mitigation measure in the fight against the spread of COVID-19. The more Louisianans who wear masks, the more Louisiana businesses can stay open.