We can never say thank you enough to our fine educators here in Acadiana. But we can sure try.

United Way of Acadiana has announced the finalists for their 2021 Teacher Awards, presented by Love Our Schools.

750 teachers were nominated for the awards, but only 12 finalists were selected in each category. Those categories include Elementary, Middle School and High School.

Educators were nominated by students, parents, fellow educators, and members of the Lafayette community during an open nomination window.

The virtual awards ceremony will be hosted live on United Way of Acadiana's Facebook page at 6:00 pm on Tuesday, May 18.

“We are honored to host this annual event which shines a much deserving light on our hardworking teachers,” said Carlee Alm-LaBar, President/CEO of United Way of Acadiana. “From creating digital content which made online learning achievable to their endless dedication to every student, our teachers put enormous efforts into reaching their students far beyond the classroom. We hope everyone will join us to show their support on May 18.”

Elementary School Finalists
Leah Fusilier - Carencro Catholic Elementary School
Leslie Gossen - Sts. Peter and Paul Catholic Elementary School
Toynette LeDay - Myrtle Place Elementary
Tara Yargeau - Woodvale Elementary School

Middle School Finalists
Marie Desplanque - Paul Breaux Middle School
Nicole Hebert - Youngsville Middle School
Jason Muller - LJ Alleman
Travis Vallier - Judice Middle School

High School Finalists
Ryan Gray - John Paul the Great
Kelly LaMaison - Teurlings Catholic High School
Marquis Newsome - David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy
Therese Seghers - John Paul the Great

In Pictures: What Education Looks Like Around the World During a Pandemic

More From Hot 107.9