CFP National Championship presented by AT&T - Alabama v Georgia
Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

The Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame has announced that Alabama football coach Nick Saban has been selected to the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.

Saban joins outdoorsman Phil Robertson, recognized internationally as the Duck Commander, eight-time Mr. Olympia bodybuilding champion Ronnie Coleman and  Sweet Lou Dunbar of the Harlem Globetrotters as members of the 2020 inductees to the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.

Saban won 75 percent of his games and the 2003 national championship in five seasons with the LSU Tigers. Saban went 48-16 from 2000-04 at LSU before jumping to the NFL for two seasons as head coach in Miami, then returning to college football at Alabama, where he has captured five more national championships since 2009

Robertson, a Vivian native, was Louisiana Tech’s starting quarterback ahead of a young Terry Bradshaw until he gave up football to focus on his love of hunting and fishing.

Other members of the class of 2020 are Saints receiver Joe Horn and Chicago Bears cornerback Charles “Peanut” Tillman, a star at UL Lafayette, along with two extraordinary basketball players: New Orleans native Kerry Kittles, a two-time All-America guard at Villanova who averaged 14 points in an eight-year NBA career, and Louisiana Tech Lady Techsters legend Angela Turner, who helped her teams to four straight national championship game appearances including wins in 1981 and 1982.

Saban will be the eighth former LSU head football coach enshrined, joining Gaynell Tinsley (1959), Bernie Moore (1963), Biff Jones (1966), Jerry Stovall (1981), Charlie McClendon (1982), Paul Dietzel (1988) and Les Miles (2019).

The Class of 2020 will be enshrined Saturday, June 27, in Natchitoches to culminate the 61st Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Induction Celebration June 25-27.


More From Hot 107.9